Daily Archives: March 11, 2009

Feel the Power, Get the Mobile Search Results You Want

3248483447_95d2e9957a1I don’t want to ‘browse”- I want to “find”.  When I’m mobile, my level of impatience for finding what I want escalates. At the same time, my tolerance for search results that aren’t relevant plummets.   If I’m looking for news, I want it to be local to me.  If I only search for music once a month, I don’t want my search results to be littered with the latest songs.  

I don’t want to spend a lot of time teaching the phone to understand my personal habits, but I do want the power to shape the results I’m looking for. 

That is the power of T9 Nav.  It monitor usage patterns, to improve it’s predictive technique.  It also let’s me set up what is searchable on my device (if I want to). For example,  I can choose to search all my messages or not as standard practice.  

I can configure it so that all music results go under the media tab instead of in the front screen results.  I can still find them easily, but don’t need them always in the front tab.

I can also configure for one or more regions, so that I can shape the search results towards popular content for my location.   That way, I’m empowered to ensure I can find what I want.  I get to influence the context and relevance of what I find.